Cooking in NH is underway!

I have always wanted to start my own blog, and I think now is the perfect time to!  I stayed home from work today because I had a very sore throat, body aches, and was very congested.  I started feeling a little better around noon, so I did a lot of research looking at other blogs and reading up about starting one. 

My blog is going to be mostly about cooking, but will feature other interests I have and some personal things about my life in New Hampshire.  I have always loved to cook, but I am relatively new to cooking on a daily basis.  My husband, Matt, and I moved into our house this past July and got married in October.  Matt loves to cook, too, so I will also feature things that he makes.  He actually just cooked for me (I am having trouble getting off the couch)!

I requested chicken noodle soup, and I knew I had all the ingredients to make it.  Matt said on the broth package it suggested adding ginger and soy sauce for an Asian twist!  I told him to go for it! 

Chicken Noodle Soup

Yum yum! This will cure any cold!

  Chicken Noodle Soup with an Asian Twist

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups of reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 3 chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 cup uncooked whole wheat egg noodles
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon fresh minced ginger
  • 5 sprigs of thyme
  • black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat broth with herbs, soy sauce, and ginger to boiling.  Add onion, carrots, celery, and chicken.  Return to boiling.
  2. Stir in noodles and cook about 10 minutes until noodles are tender and chicken is no longer pink in the center.

We adapted the recipe that was found on the broth container.   I got the broth at Target, it was the Market Pantry brand.

Cure for a Cold

Chicken noodle soup, tissues, and TV...my go to items! Matt is headed to the store to get me some cough drops and ginger-ale. What a good husband!

This was great and definitely hit the spot!

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

