Christmas Eve & Christmas

Oh my…late post!  Christmas eve shaped out a bit differently than I expected!  I slept in big time at my parents, and then I went to my hair stylist’s in Nashua!  It came out great!  I was in desperate need for a trim (split ends..ew) so I feel fantastic now.   Anyways…after my hair appointment I headed back to my house, did some cleaning, and waited for Matt to get home.  We chatted for a bit & then headed back towards Nashua to go to Christmas eve mass with my fam.  

At the end of mass a brilliant idea crossed my mind..let’s get Christmas eve martinis!!!  To satisfy this craving we went to Giorgio’s  in Milford, which happened to be perfectly on the way home!  I had never been there before, and it is beautiful inside!  The food smelled realllllly good, so we will have to head back there some time to eat.  I got a Pom martini & Matty got a grapefruit martini.  Both were equally amazing, but Matt’s was so amazing  that I snuck an extra sip when he went to the bathroom 😉 .  When we got home I baked a pumpkin bread for the Cooking in NH in laws tomorrow, this is a mish mash of many different pumpkin recipes I have used in the past. I am OBSESSED with pumpkin bread & have decided pumpkin is going to go on much, much longer than Thanksgiving!

Ash’s Pumpkin Bread

(By the way…in the right portions, this is SO good for you!)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup of pure pumpkin (can be canned but not the pumpkin pie adapted kind)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray bread pan with PAM or other non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a LARGE bowl mix the eggs & brown sugar. Then add the oil, pumpkin, vanilla, and yogurt.  Mix together.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine both flours, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt.4. Add the flour mix to the pumpkin batter.  Stir till combined. 

             5. Pour into bread pan.  Bake 45 to 50 minutes (or until toothpick comes out clean).  Let cool in pan for 10-15 minutes.  Then take    the bread out of the pan to finish cooling.

I was all loopy off of my martini that I forgot to take a picture of the finished product!  Believe me though, this bread is AMAZING!

Matt & I had a great Christmas!  We ended up getting a Wii (it’s red, so cool!), some nice clothes and pajamas, and gift cards galore!  Matt got a netbook from my parents, which in turn works out great for me (he likes to take my laptop hostage).  I got some awesome speakers to hook my iPod up!  We had a blast seeing family yesterday, and when we got home we hooked up the Wii right away and played Super Mario Bros.  🙂

In other news, in the part of NH we live in, we might be getting up to 18 inches of snow between tonight and tomorrow!  Yuck, you may think to yourself, but Matt & I LOVE to ski and this is great news for us!  We are definitely going to take advantage of the fresh powder by skiing with Matt’s brother, Mike and his girlfriend, Megan tomorrow night! 

Today we have more Wii action and football on the agenda.  Matt requested that I make chicken fingers for our long day of relaxation.  The chicken fingers I make are relatively healthy, especially if you eat them with a big salad which is what I plan to do!  The mister will probably want some fries instead though! 🙂  Stay tuned for the recipe!

Merry (day after) Christmas!

This entry was posted in Breads, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

