Maple Pork Chops and Tomato Herb Quinoa

Another day of vacation for me today, and another day of cleaning.  Today I managed to attack some of the spare room and the living room.  I did get some quality relaxation in, too, ahhh I love vacation.  I decided not to work out because my legs were incredibly sore from skiing.  I did stretch for awhile though.  Skiing in fresh snow can be really tough on your body.

Tonight I really wanted to cook something delicious for Matt & I.  Matt’s brother gave him a variety pack of maple syrup for Christmas, and when I saw the dark Grade B syrup, I knew I wanted to cook with it!  I had pork chops in the fridge and thought this might be a good combo.  Now, the other white meat is definitely not my first choice of meat, but it was on sale this week, and I convinced myself I could jazz it up.  I used a recipe from Simply Recipes as my guide (the recipe was originally in the Boston Globe), but definitely added and subtracted a few things to make it my own.

Maple Pork Chops

(This is for 3 pork chops, and serves 3)

Ingredients:

  • 3 pork chops
  • Olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 1tbsp. chopped fresh sage
  • 1 tbsp. chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/8 cup apple cider
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.  Salt the pork by sprinkling and pressing into the meat.

2. Cook pork in a pan with a little bit of oil on medium-high heat until pork is browned.  Then place meat in a baking dish.

3. In a small sauce pan with a little bit of oil combined onions and herbs.  Cook until onion starts to brown.

4. Add apple cider vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, and maple syrup.  Cook until warm. 

5.  Pour over pork chops.  Bake for about 40 minutes (baste 2-3 times during this time).

I also checked out my cabinets and fridge and made this quinoa out of what I came across:

Tomato Herb Quinoa

Ingredients:

(again…this serves about 2 or 3)

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup organic tomato soup
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp. fresh sage
  • 1 tbsp. fresh garlic
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 tomato chopped

Directions:

  1. Put quinoa, tomato soup, and water in a pan and bring to a boil
  2. Let simmer and cover until all juices are soaked up (probably about 10-15 minutes)
  3. Meanwhile, put a little bit of oil in a small pan and cook garlic and onion on medium-high until brown.  Reduce heat and add tomato and sage.  Cook until warm.
  4. When quinoa is finished add the tomato mixture and mix until combined.

SUCCESS!  I made a pork chop dinner that both Matt and I thoroughly enjoyed.  The pork was cooked perfectly!  I literally gave myself a pat on the back I was so proud of myself.  The tomato herb quinoa was awesome, too!  I steamed some green beans so we could get some veggies in.  This was a great meal!  I will definitely be making maple pork chops again!

Time to finish the dishes, and spend some quality time with Matt.  Oh yeah, the Eagles game that I was all ready to watch Sunday was postponed due to snow till today, so we will be tuning in!  Go Eagles!

This entry was posted in Entree, Pork, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

