Taco Night!

Ever since I made the the salmon black bean tostadas last week and wasn’t too crazy about them, I have been craving a delicious and spicy Mexican meal.  Mexican food is definitely one of my favorite cuisines, so I am considering making a Mexican meal once a week (Mexican Mondays, perhaps?). 

To satisfy my craving, I decided to make tacos.  When I was getting ready to make them, Matt asked if he could cook tonight.  I have to be honest, I really wanted to cook, especially since this blog is only a week old, but he gave me the cute puppy dog eyes. 😉  Just look at him in action.

Matt & Ashlee’s Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic chopped
  • 1 jalepeno chopped
  • 1 tbps. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • Oil

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in pan.  When hot add ground turkey and cook until almost browned.
  2. Add peppers, onions, garlic, and spices.  Matt added about 1/2 cup of water to the mixture because he felt it was a bit dry.  Cook until onion is brown.

Then you’re ready to make a taco!

We had soft tacos on whole wheat tortillas.  For toppings I had out Greek yogurt, salsa, green onions, and cilantro.

I also made some rice to go with the tacos by mixing 1 boil in a bag pouch of brown rice with 1 can of mexicorn.

MMMmm…I love taco night!  Matt went back for seconds they were so good!  Since, Matt is kicking off his mini vaca, we decided to have a little cocktail (or two)!  I wanted to buy the Skinny Girl Margarita that Bethenny Frankel makes to go with our Taco Night theme, but they didn’t have any at the liquor store I went to.  I made up this little tropical concotion instead.

Tropical Cosmo

  • 2 parts Smirnoff Passion Fruit Vodka
  • 1 part Ocean Spray Diet Cranberry Pomegranate Juice
  • 1 part triple sec
  • splash of lime juice

Whenever I make martinis, I make them ahead in a Nalgene bottle & stick them in the freezer.  At that time, I also stick the martini glasses in the freezer so we can have a nice frosty glass.  😀

Ohhh…I also wanted to point out that I do not have my camera at the moment, so all the pictures so far have been taken with either my phone or iPod touch.  Hopefully I will have the camera soon, so the pictures will be 100 times better!

I’ll be making Chex mix to bring up on my ski trip, so come back tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Entree, Mexican, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

