Mexican Monday Casserole

Today is the first week of Mexican Mondays!  Tonight I threw together a Mexican Casserole, and I literally mean throw together.  I knew I had the essentials to make it (ground turkey, mexicorn, and tomatoes with green chilis)…but didn’t use a recipe to go by.  I added zucchini to it, too, which was fantastic!

Mexican Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1lb. ground turkey
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 zucchini chopped
  • 1 can mexicorn
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis
  • About 1 cup of tomato sauce
  • Chili powder
  • Cumin
  • Reduced fat colby jack cheese

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Heat oil in a pan on high and cook ground turkey until brown.  Add onion and zucchini, and cook until onion starts to brown. 
  2. Mix in mexicorn, black beans, and tomatoes.  Transfer to an oven safe casserole dish.
  3. Mix in tomato sauce.  Then mix in cumin and chili powder to taste.
  4. Heat in oven for 15 minutes.  Top with cheese and heat until cheese is melted.

I meant to add brown rice inside but forgot, so I served it over the rice instead.

So…apparantly some winter weather is coming our way starting tomorrow night.  I am crossing my fingers for a snow day on Wednesday.  I might even wear my pajamas inside out tomorrow night…I’m five.  The last storm they hyped up, we only got 1 inch, though, so we’ll see!  Ok…back to “The Bachelor”!

This entry was posted in Entree, Mexican and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mexican Monday Casserole

  1. Michelle says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I admire those people who can cook without a recipe; I am definitely not one of them! Love The Bachelor!

Leave a Reply

