Cozy, Snowed In, & No Paprika

Wish granted…I was snowed in for the majority of the day!  Matt, however, was able to make it to work safely in his trusty Subaru.  Which meant that I was left to do all the shoveling!  At first I was all like, “Great!  This will be my work out for the day!”  After shoveling for the second time, I had other thoughts. And about yesterday’s post: I like snow…when my husband is home to shovel!!! 😉

Well, it was a very productive day full of shoveling, laundry, progress reports, cleaning, and shoveling.  After my last round of shoveling, I bravely ventured out to the grocery store and picked up some brown sugar for my dinner recipe and some Chardonnay (the essentials, obviously). 

When I got home I pumped up some Taylor Swift on Pandora and whipped up some 30 min. Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken, thanks to Jenna @ Eat, Live, Run.  It is a recipe that mixes the flavors of lemon & paprika.  This recipe was also featured by Kristin at Iowa Girl Eats, and she said it tasted like Sesame Chicken…so I added toasted sesame seeds for good measure.

I DID NOT HAVE PAPRIKA!  About two weeks before I moved into my house, my mom & I went out to get every spice I would need…sorry, paprika, for some reason you were overlooked!   I was not about to go back out, so I did the best I could and used a Mediterranean spice mix that had paprika in it.  Here’s what I ended up with:

The improvisation worked out just fine!  The chicken was cooked to perfection and was super tasty!  I steamed some broccoli and took a shortcut by making a 90 sec. Uncle Ben rice mix.  Great satisfying meal on a cold winter day (of shoveling)!

Is it snowy where you are?  One of my friends told me that Hawaii is the only state without snow!  Is this true?  Matt & I are Florida bound come April, and we are really missing Aruba and need some tropical temps…so let’s end the chilly trend there way before!

This entry was posted in Chicken, Entree and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cozy, Snowed In, & No Paprika

  1. Michelle says:

    It is definitely snowy here in Alaska!

    My husband drives a Subaru too, and I’m pretty sure he loves it more than me! (j/k)

Leave a Reply

