Mexican Monday & The Blues

Man oh man…today was a long day!  I have been feeling super moody this afternoon, really for no good reason! Maybe it’s the miserably cold weather, or maybe the stress of taking on a new classroom is finally getting to me…ahh who knows!  I am going to snuggle up soon & watch The Bachelor. My tude ended up scoring me an offer for a foot rub during my guilty pleasure of a show!  The combination of the two should get rid of my Monday blues!

Ok enough whining!  Tonight for dinner I decided to make a variation of a recipe I found on CookingLight.com for Chicken with Black Bean Salsa. 

Ingredients (This makes 3 servings):

  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/2 cup Mexicorn (canned or frozen)
  • 2 tbsp. chopped red onion
  • 2 tsp. chopped jalepeno pepper
  • 2 tsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/8 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 6 grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 3 chicken breasts
  • salt
  • pepper
  • any other seasoning of your choice (I used ground cayenne pepper & chili powder)
  1. I used my George Foreman grill.  So my first step was to plug it in and wait for it to heat.  You can totally make the chicken a different way, though.
  2. To make the salsa, combine all ingredients up to and including grape tomatoes.
  3. Sprinkle chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and other seasoning and add to grill.
  4. Grill until cooked through.  Squeeze a fresh lime over the chicken.

I chose to make mine into a salad, while Matt opted to put his in a tortilla.  This was a delicious and light meal, which I was perfect after a weekend full of fun.  Hopefully my icy cold mood will dethaw overnight!  Catch ya tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Entree, Mexican and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

