Warming up…

I very reluctantly headed into work today.  The roads were terrible!  I got to leave a little early (2:00), but getting back was even more scary!  Luckily I made it back safely, and shoveled the driveway, which can be a difficult task when being pelted by ice bullets!  Matt was still at work and I called and told him about my obstacles on the phone.  “It adds character!” he said…whatever you say, Matt!

When I was done shoveling I made a soup, which was an adaptation of the Italian Vegetable Soup I saw on recipegirl.com.  

Italian Vegetable Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 of a medium-large butternut squash, seeded & chopped
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen corn
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 28oz. can of diced tomatoes
  • 3 14 oz. cans of reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 15oz. can white beans
  • about 2 cups uncooked whole wheat pasta (I used bow ties)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a large pot.  Add onions and cook until soft.  Add garlic and cook till they start to brown.
  2. Add butternut squash, corn, and celery.  Cook until butternut squash starts to soften.  Remove from heat.
  3. Blend half the can of tomatoes with 1 can of chicken broth.  Add to pot with the other can of diced tomatoes and other 2 cans of chicken broth.  Bring to a boil.  Then simmer for 20 minutes.  (Meanwhile, cook pasta.)
  4. Add white beans and cooked pasta, and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook for about another 5 minutes.

Tasty & healthy!  I enjoyed with some cheese & crackers.

Just checked the weather forecast…it’s supposed to snow tomorrow and Thursday night into Friday…come on!  I like snow, but this is A LOT!  Good thing I have a lot of leftover soup! 😉

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

