Working on the Weekend

I knew it would be like this.  I previously mentioned how I am changing classrooms within the same school, and I knew this would be a huge transition.  From the amount of hours I went in this weekend, I can definitely say I was right!  I think the hardest part is over, and we will be able to settle into our new classroom tomorrow!  (Special thanks to Matt who was a huge help moving all the heavy stuff!) 

Have you ever been to work during off hours?  I have a few times, and I have to say I find it extremely eerie! 😯  At one point, I thought I heard the elevator go up and down, but nobody else was there that I knew of! Eek!  Good thing Matt came a couple of hours in!

Tonight I finally get to relax!  Ahh…relaxing feels even better after a super productive weekend!  We picked up a rotisserie chicken and some Bud Light Limes on our way back from the school!

I made some red quinoa with low sodium chicken broth and added fresh herbs (thyme & sage), chopped grape tomatoes, and a little bit of tomato sauce.  I also steamed some broccoli. 

Mmm…I love me a rotisserie chicken.  The skin always looks so good, but I am not a fan so I take it off.  I am also super obsessed with quinoa right now!  Love it!  Matt does, too!  Who woulda thought???

Matt proved himself a great husband tonight, too, by cutting up and storing the rest of the chicken meat, and now he’s making broth!  Oh my…what shall I make with my homemade broth this week?

Homemade Chicken Stock

  • Chicken carcass, bones, and skin leftover from chicken
  • 2-4 carrots
  • 2-4 ribs of celery
  • 1 onion, quartered
  • 3 bay leaves

Directions:

  1. Take carcass, bones, skin, vegetables, herbs, and spices and put them in a large pot with enough cold water to cover chicken.
  2. Add about 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper.
  3. Bring to a boil.  Then reduce heat and bring to a low simmer.  Occasionally skim the foam off the top of the pot.
  4. Simmer uncovered for about 4-5 hours.
  5. Take the bones out and strain.  Store refrigerated or in the freezer.

Alrighty, off to watch the Steelers/Jets game.  Unsure about who I want to win…some people at work are Jets fans so that might make for a better day tomorrow! 😉

This entry was posted in Chicken, Entree, Soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working on the Weekend

  1. I work at a school, too! I hate to go in on the off hours because it is SUPER creepy!

    I’ve never made my own chicken stock, but I’ve always wanted to! I’m going to bookmark your recipe!!

  2. It’s freezing here too-all i’m craving is hot soup…love that he’s making it for you!!!

Leave a Reply

