Muscle Bound Chili & Cornbread

I like to browse health magazine websites sometimes when I am planning recipes for the week.  While browsing Women’s Health, I found this great chili recipe that I was PUMPED (I know) to try out called Muscle Bound Chili.  Apparently this recipe comes from a book from Men’s Health called “Muscle Chow”.  Well then, prepare to get ripped! Haha!  I halved the recipe and used ground turkey instead.  Besides that, I followed the recipe from the site.

 

This was a really great recipe, and I will definitely be making it again!  I love how it called for some red wine!  I used a Cabernet Sauvignon, which was suggested. 

This had me wondering: Is red wine still heart healthy after you cook with it? This is the best article I could find.  The verdict I came out with was kind of.  The wine allows for an abundance of flavor, so you would not have to get the flavor and body from a fatty source.  The alcohol from the wine evaporates when you cook it, so you are not getting that heart healthy benefit from the wine.  Resveratrol, the antioxidant found in wine, does not evaporate, but in a normal serving size of your meal you would only consume a small amount.  Hmm…interesting. 😉

I also made some delicious cornbread to go my chili.  I came up with this recipe, and I have to admit I was a little skeptical about how it would turn out.  I think I mentioned before that I am not the best baker when I don’t follow a recipe.

Healthy Cornbread

Ingredients:

  • Non-stick spray
  • 1 1/2 cups yellow cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup or less of sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 1/2 vanilla soy milk

 Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Spray 8″ baking dish with cooking spray. 
  2. Mix together cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Mix in milk and egg.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean from the center.

Personally, I would have liked the bread just a tad more moist, but Matt on the other hand thought it was great!  I guess it just depends on your cornbread preferences!

At any rate, chili + cornbread is a winner to me!

This entry was posted in Breads, Entree, Mexican and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

