6 days away!

I can’t believe it!  Only 6 days away till our Florida vacation! 

Matt and I went for a 2 mile walk downtown today.  When we made it there we had coffee and checked out the used book store.  I got a book to read over vacation: “Testimony” by Anita Shreve.  It sounds really good, and it was hard for me not to dive into it today!  After the book store, we made the trek back to the house.  It feels great to walk outside, I’m loving the milder weather!

When we got back I cleaned, started packing for Florida, and did a massive amount of laundry.  I also prepared the bulk of our meals for the week, so we can work out right after work, and not have to worry about too much food prep when we get back.  Look forward to:

  • a healthy protein packed salad
  • lentil wheat berry soup
  • smoothies!

I’m trying to be all good ‘n healthy for the trip…and actually I want to stay on the healthy side in FL, too.  Apparently, they have a stellar gym at the place we’re staying.   Definitely stay tuned next week for tips on how to stay on track, while on vaca!

So…it was another Sunday night of grilling for Matt!  I had chicken kabobs ready for him again.  I also roasted some Brussel sprouts and broccolini to go with them.

This time, I made up my own marinade, which was basically a teriyaki marinade:

Teriyaki Marinade

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 2  tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. toasted sesame seeds
  • 4 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp. fresh ginger, chopped
  • 1 bunch scallions, chopped
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder

Directions:

Mix ingredients together and pour over your choice of meat.  Let marinate for at least an hour. 

So good…marinating meats and having Matt grill them is my new favorite! 

Ok…according to Matt, I haven’t stopped since I woke up, so I am going to get a bit of relaxation time in, and then get to bed!  Night!

This entry was posted in Chicken, Entree and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

